Zone-Specific Factsheets

Explore our zone-specific factsheets for all of the Bird Garden Zones. The 22 factsheets below span the country and include brief summaries of why gardening for birds is beneficial, what you should consider when gardening for birds, a short description of the zone, featured bird species, and a list of 10 plants that you could consider while planning your garden.

Zone 1: Northwestern Boreal

  • Yukon Territory, western Northwest Territories, and north-central/western British Columbia

Zone 2: Coastal Mountains Forests

  • Western mainland coast of British Columbia and Yukon Territory

Zone 3: Northern Pacific Rainforest

  • Western Vancouver Island, Haida Gwaii, and British Columbia western coastline islands

Zone 4: Strait of Georgia/Puget Sound Lowland Forests

  • Eastern Vancouver Island and southwestern section of the Lower Mainland

Zone 5: Central Canadian Rocky Mountain Forests

  • British Columbia’s Central Interior including Fraser Plateau, Skeena Mountains, and Hart Ranges

Zone 6: Southern Dry Interior Forests and Grasslands

  • British Columbia’s Thompson and Okanagan regions

Zone 7: Rocky Mountain Forests and Alpine

  • Eastern/southeastern Rocky Mountains range bordering Alberta, including south of Medicine Hat

Zone 8:  North-Central Boreal

  • Northwest Territories, southwestern Nunavut, northeastern British Columbia, and northern Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba

Zone 9: Western Continental Boreal

  • Eastern British Columbia, central Alberta and Saskatchewan, and central/western Manitoba

Zone 10: Aspen Parkland and Mixed Grass Prairie

  • Horseshoe shaped region from Calgary area to Edmonton, southeast to Yorkton, and southeastern Saskatchewan and southwestern Manitoba

Zone 11: Central Grasslands

  • Southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan

Zone 12: Tallgrass Prairie

  • Southcentral Manitoba, including Steinbach, Winnipeg, and Portage la Prairie, northwest to Dauphin

Zone 13: Boreal Hardwood Forest Transition

  • Southeastern Manitoba, Rainy River District and central Ontario, and southern Québec

Zone 14: Mid-Continental Boreal

  • Northern Saskatchewan, central Manitoba, northwestern/central Ontario, and northwestern Québec (south of Hudson Bay Lowlands)

Zone 15: Northeastern Boreal

  • Hudson Bay Lowlands, northern Québec, and northern/northwestern Newfoundland and Labrador (mainland Labrador)

Zone 16: Carolinian Forests

  • Southwestern Ontario (south of London-area) and western Lake Ontario mainland

Zone 17: Eastern Great Lakes-St. Lawrence  Valley Lowland Forests

  • Southwestern Ontario (north of London-area), north to Manitoulin Island, and east along the north shore of Lake Ontario to the Saint Lawrence River, ending southwest of Rivière-du-Loup

Zone 18: Northern Appalachians Forests

  • Southeastern Québec, from Sherbrooke to the Gaspé Peninsula

Zone 19: Maritimes Acadian Forests

  • New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and north/northwestern Nova Scotia (excluding Cape Breton Island)

Zone 20: Nova Scotia Acadian Forests

  • Cape Breton Island and south/southwestern Nova Scotia

Zone 21: Eastern and Coastal Forests

  • Eastern Québec, L’Île-d’Anticosti, and southeastern Newfoundland and Labrador (mainland Labrador) including Happy Valley-Goose Bay

Zone 22: Coastal and Interior Newfoundland Boreal Forests

  • Island of Newfoundland

Below are links to additional materials from other organizations that can help you with your garden planning, including resources from Canada and the United States. We have grouped them into general regions for your convenience.


Maritimes and Newfoundland and Labrador

Southern Ontario

Southern British Columbia

United States

Northeastern Region

Southern Region

Midwestern Region

Western Region